Red meat, you’re dead to me

24 Feb

I heart food.  I’ve always enjoyed eating out, getting drinks, and more recently, cooking. But I can barely go one day without a stomach ache.  It sounds like irony but it’s more like my personal purgatory.

For about 9 years, I’ve struggled with a plethora of stomach conditions and have attempted more remedies and diets than I can recount.  It is only recently that with the help of a holistic nutritionist, I am finally finding some relief.  With this relief comes a  restrictive diet, which at first, I will admit, did not seem worth the effort.  (I mean I literally eat a smoothie every morning-  EVERY MORNING??)

After slowly becoming convinced that this may be a permanent change, and not one of the short-lived attempts I’ve tried in the past, I am realizing real changes need to be made.  I’ll be cooking much more, but more importantly, I’ll be reporting what types of foods I’ll be eating when dining in as well as out in DC.

This blog may interest you if you a) love food, b) have any type of diet restrictions, c) need to find good food in Washington, because let’s be real- this isn’t New York.

Tomorrow night, I’ll be eating at Volt out in Frederick, MD.  While I wish my first real post could be how I maintained by super diet at one of the best restaurants in the metro area, but I’ve been waiting for this dinner for over a year (I’ve literally had a gift card since January 2010),  and likely, I will cave just a little.  But I’ll try my best and report how it goes.

My last first note will be the guidelines of this diet so you know what I’m dealing with, and choose to keep reading or find something way more interesting.

No Dairy, Coffee, Alcohol, Nuts (whole), Raw Foods/  Limited amounts of Sugar & Wheat/  Only Lean Proteins.  Kill me.  I mean Let’s Do It!!!

One Response to “Red meat, you’re dead to me”

  1. Flammie March 1, 2011 at 1:44 pm #

    Rackle,
    I am sooo excited to follow ur blog!!!!!!
    I can empathize- Amir is allergic to soy(oil and lecithin as well) and dairy, so let’s just say my diet is pretty rough especially considering that legumes, tomatoes, citrus fruit and nuts also bother him…..
    Cant wait to see all ur adventures and recipes!!!!!

Leave a comment